Chimichurri, food of the gods.

On a high protein diet, I find that grilling chicken or steaks is one of my favorite Friday evening meals. Not only is grilling out a great way to unwind and enjoy life, but by making enough I can enjoy quick and delicious leftovers for a few days.

Traditionally a beef marinade and sauce, Chimichurri is a parsley based sauce from Argentina. I am not an Emerille Lagasse fan, but on the recommendation of a trusted friend tried his recipe for Skirt Steak with Chimichurri Sauce. I really enjoyed it, I used half the mixture to prepare a couple of thinly sliced skirt steaks and half the mixture I used with chicken breasts on kebabs the following day. I have made that same recipe a couple of times since. I think it is best with the steaks, I prefer a strongly beefy flavored cut like a skirt steak or a flank steak cut very thin and grilled very close to hot coals. I have heard you can grill directly on the coals but have not tried that yet.

Leave a Reply

