A Soldier of the Great War by Mark Helprin

Amazon.com: A Soldier of the Great War – Mark Helprin

I took this book with me on vacation having picked it up some months ago and not having found time to start it. Having completed only the first couple of hunded pages out the 880 total in the book, I think it is already safe to say that I have found a new favorite author. Not only is it accessible and readable, but beautiful profound and moving. I look forward to finishing it and to reading more of his work.

I hope to write more about it later, but the book reinforces much of what I have been thinking about the importance of intentionality (some may call it mindfulness) in living a meaningful life.

Leave a Reply

