Why deism?

Protein Wisdom: A crack in the old space-time fabric [ahem]

Jeff writes interestingly about his belief in God, one quote stood out:

“As I said in a comment, I think we believe a thing is true despite logical arguments; we believe a thing is true because we choose to believe. It’s a decision.”

That is not my experience at all. I believe in God, the Prime Mover, the Creative Force or whatever you want to call it not because of a decision I have made to do so, but simply because I believe. In fact it took me a long time to admit this. My logical mind has long since concluded that the existence of God is not something you can prove. Well, no shit! But after trying to be an atheist because that was the logical conclusion, and actually being an agnostic unbeliever because that was an even more logical conclusion, I finally realized that regardless of what my logical investigations told me that I believe the universe is more than just stuff, that there is something beyond mere matter.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition defines agnostic as “One who believes that it is impossible to know whether there is a God” I actually still agree with that, but I also still believe that there is a God. I suppose I could be accurately described as an agnostic deist, or something close to that.

Leave a Reply

